2011 MBC Drama Awards’ winners – How did Blue do?

The 2011 MBC Drama Awards took place on the night of December 30th. Nothing was truly out of the ordinary (MBC standard, of course). As expected, Cha Seung Won was robbed of his Daesang right under his nose. Yeom Jung Ah was completely snubbed. And in order to address the criticism of having multiple winners, MBC followed in the footsteps of KBS and SBS by splitting its award categories. But alas, it was no use- MBC just went right ahead and still selected multiple winners once again! Oh, and since when did 50-episode dramas started being categorized as a “miniseries?” Just another day at the MBC Drama Awards!

I’ve earlier made predictions on who I think would win. Was the spirit of Paul the Octopus with me?


Since MBC never pre-announced the list of the nominees, I’ve included them here for your convenience. The winners are bolded in pink. The other names listed are the nominees who failed to win in that category.

Drama of the Year: Best LoveCan You Hear My HeartIndomitable Daughters-in-LawRoyal Family, Twinkle Twinkle
Blue guessed: Best Love 

Top Excellence Award (Miniseries), Actor: Cha Seung Won (Best Love), Ji Sung (Royal Family), Song Seung Hun (My Princess)
Blue guessed: Cha Seung Won
Top Excellence Award (Miniseries), Actress: Gong Hyo Jin (Best Love), Kim Tae Hee (My Princess), Yeom Jung Ah (Royal Family)
Blue guessed: Yeom Jung Ah –> Blue loves Gong Hyo Jin. But she really thinks Yeom Jung Ah was robbed here.

Top Excellence Award (Serial Drama), Actor: Kim Kab Soo (Just Like Today), Kim Suk Hoon (Twinkle Twinkle), Park Sang Min (I Believed in Men)
Blue guessed: Kim Suk Hoon
Top Excellence Award (Serial Drama), Actress: Kim Hyun Joo (Twinkle Twinkle), Seo Young Hee (A Thousand Kisses), Shin Ae Ra (Indomitable Daughters-in-Law)
Blue guessed: Kim Hyun Joo 

**Aside from these categories, Blue guessed that the following actors will likely take home some trophy. Only those boldfaced in pink actually did.**

Lee Yuri (Twinkle Twinkle)
Go Doo Shim (Twinkle Twinkle)
Shin Ae Ra (Indomitable Daughters-in-Law)
Kim Young Ae (Royal Family)
Hwang Jung Eum (Can You Hear My Heart)
Kim Jae Won (Can You Hear My Heart)
Yoon Kye Sang (Best Love)

Let’s take a look at the rest of the winners!

Excellence Award (Miniseries), Actor: Chun Jung Myung (The Duo), Kim Jae Won (Can You Hear My Heart), Namgoong Min (Can You Hear My Heart)
Excellence Award (Miniseries), Actress: Hwang Jung Eum
(Can You Hear My Heart), Lee Da Hae (Miss Ripley), Lee Bo Young (Hooray for Love), Song Ji Hyo (Gyebaek)

Excellence Award (Serial Drama), Actor: Ji Hyun Woo (A Thousand Kisses), Kim Jung Hyun (Dangerous Woman), Lee Hoon (Indomitable Daughters-in-Law)
Excellence Award (Serial Drama), Actress: Go Eun Mi (Dangerous Woman), Lee Yuri (Twinkle Twinkle), Yoon Se Ah (You’re So Pretty)

Golden Acting Award (Miniseries): Jung Bo Suk (Can You Hear My Heart/Stormy Lovers) & Bae Jong Ok (Hooray for Love)

Golden Acting Award (Serial Drama): Gil Yong Woo (Twinkle Twinkle) & Cha Hwa Yun (A Thousand Kisses)

Newcomer Award (Miniseries), Actor: Jung Yong Hwa (You’ve Fallen for Me), Lee Ki Kwang (My Princess/Me Too Flower), Park Yoo Chun (Miss Ripley), Yoon Kye Sang (Best Love)
Blue guessed: Park Yoo Chun
Newcomer Award (Miniseries), Actress: Cha Yeh Ryun (Royal Family), Hyomin (Gyebaek), Seo Hyun Jin (The Duo), Yoo In Na (Best Love)
Blue guessed: Yoo In Na and Hwang Jung Eum 

Newcomer Award (Serial Drama), Actor: Kang Dong Ho (Twinkle Twinkle), Park Yoo Hwan (Twinkle Twinkle), Park Yoon Jae (Indomitable Daughters-in-Law)
Blue guessed: Park Yoon Jae
Newcomer Award (Serial Drama), Actress: Choi Eun Seo (Stormy Lovers), Kim So Eun (A Thousand Kisses), Lee Honey (Indomitable Daughters-in-Law)

Best Couple Award: Cha Seung Won & Gong Hyo Jin (Best Love), Kim Jae Won & Hwang Jung Eum (Can You Hear My Heart), Yoon Sang Hyun & Choi Ji Woo (Can’t Lose), Song Seung Hun & Kim Tae Hee (My Princess), Ji Sung & Yeom Jung Ah (Royal Family), Kim Suk Hoon & Kim Hyun Joo (Twinkle Twinkle)
Blue guessed: Cha Seung Won & Gong Hyo Jin 

Popularity Award, Actor: Cha Seung Won (Best Love), Ji Sung (Royal Family), Kim Jae Won (Can You Hear My Heart), Kim Suk Hoon (Twinkle Twinkle), Song Seung Hun (My Princess)
Blue guessed: Cha Seung Won
Popularity Award, Actress: Choi Ji Woo (Can’t Lose), Gong Hyo Jin (Best Love), Hwang Jung Eum (Can You Hear My Heart), Kim Hyun Joo (Twinkle Twinkle), Kim Tae Hee (My Princess)
Blue guessed: Gong Hyo Jin 

PD Award, Actor: Choi Jong Hwan (Gyebaek/The Duo), Kim Jung Tae (Can’t Lose/Miss Ripley)
PD Award, Actress: Song Ji Hyo (Gyebaek)

Special Award: Yoon Tae Young (Night Hospital) & Kim Young Ae (Royal Family)

Child Actor Award: Yang Han Yeol (Best Love) & Kim Yoo Bin (Hooray for Love)
Blue guessed: Yang Han Yeol & Kim Yoo Bin 

Lifetime Achievement Award: Kang Bu Ja (Indomitable Daughters-in-Law)

Writer of the Year Award: Hong Jung Eun & Hong Mi Ran (Best Love), Bae Yoo Mi (Twinkle Twinkle)

Foreign Film Dubbing Award: Park Sun Young

Via StarNews

1 comment

  1. supah

    Dude, your predictions are scary, you pretty much nailed it.
    And I totally fancied Gong Hyo-jin’s frock. Unni can work everything we mere mortals cannot. And congrats to her, I guess. And Jung Bo-seok, woooo!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>